Learning project management: Day 4

DAY 4
დილა მშვიდობისა (dila mschvidobisa)! Or, if you prefer, good morning!

What do we have today in our menu? The title says “project management appetizer”: it looks inviting!  And moreover we know that in the afternoon we are going to Borjomi for our “excursion”, so we are really active and willing to do, to see, to know…

Just some fundamental concepts that Laura gives us and then we start with a 4 group activity: in this simulation each team has a role and everybody has the same task. They represent a university, a motorway company, a shopping mall company and a homebuilder company.. and all of them are looking for a plot where to build their buildings. So, after they have planned a strategy within their team, they need to negotiate with the others in order to reach what they need. If at the first moment the discussion was quiet and calm, when they started matching with the other groups the debate became really animated: it has been so hard to find an agreement! And finally not all the groups found it.

The debate
The debate

Look at them! They are so bound in the negotiation that they are all amassed in a little corner of the room.

So, what should we learn from this? If every group would choose to be clear and honest with the others it would have been much more simple to have an agreement and to get all they needed. But they chose to hide their own intentions to each other and it created misunderstandings, doubts and distrust: a no-cooperation context.

Demyd from Ukraine
Demyd from Ukraine

“Wow, it was a kind of real life, I imagined to be the director of that company and I was hiding to my staff my real intentions. I did it because of a lack of experience, I think. I needed to see the whole picture of the situation but I couldn’t realize how it could be useful for me. I should have understood what my competitors want and then concentrate upon this. Well, for example, my mother: when she wants to buy something she always lies and she never shows to the saleswoman her intention. By this way she can get what she wants at the price that she wants. And I wanted to do something like that! Maybe I should not lie in a situation like this, maybe in this case it should be better to know something more. I think the problem was my lack of research, I mean the fact that I didn’t reach enough information about my competitors and about their intentions ” says Demyd from Ukraine.

Well, after the reflections on our activity, it’s time to go to lunch and to prepare  ourselves for our excursion. Enjoy!!!

A DAY (and, above all, a special dinner) IN BORJOMI

Panoramic view
Panoramic view

In half an hour by minibus we arrived to an high scenic point with this great view on the mountains and on the Borjomi little valley. Just a short stop to take some pictures and to join the view but there’s an unexpected surprise for us.

The cableway
The cableway
Inside the cableway
Inside the cableway

We found a pleasant “out of plan”: a cableway that goes directly to the Natural Park we were going to visit! And it’s even cheap! So why not?! 😉

Finally, after a bit of fear and a lot of laughs, we arrive safe and sound to the entrance of the park. It’s incredibly cold, even because of the river that courses there, so close to us and we are freezing, come on! Maybe it’s better to walk, just to heat our frozen feet. So we go inside and we keep in contact with the beauty of the nature and above all with this particular warm spring of a special therapeutic water.

Borjomi National Park
Borjomi National Park
Ramin drinks spring water
Borjomi spring water
Ramin from Azerbaijan
Ramin from Azerbaijan

“The park was nice, I mean, it was really too cold (in Bakuriani it was warmer than there and I can’t understand why, come on!) but I like walking through the trees and doing it joking with friends, it’s amazing. I’ve already drank some Borjomi water, because I bought one bottle in my country and I knew it has mineral properties that are good for health. I brought some water even today but I have to remember that it must be drunk in 3 days, or it will become normal water only.” says Ramin from Azerbaijan

It’s 17.45, the meeting time: we are frozen and hungry and we are looking forward to the dinner! And we know that tonight we’ll have a typical Georgian meal so we can’t wait anymore. When we arrive at the restaurant, Sebastian gives us some information about the dinner: one of the most important word we have to know is “SUPRA”, the table full of Georgian plates that are all shared with everybody. Some examples of the plates we tasted:

  • Khinkali: a big kind of ravioli dumplings with meat filling
  • Sulguni: a particular cheese
  • Khachapuri: a kind of pizza with cheese inside and on top
  • Chakhokhbili: chicken or turkey with tomato sauce
  • Badrijani: aubergines with garlic and walnuts
  • Ajapsandali: mixed vegetables with spices
The Supra
The Supra
Jesus from Spain
Jesus from Spain

“The food was great. And maybe we’ve eaten even too much… 😀 But I really enjoy the food and the typical dances that we had the opportunity to see, thanks to those Georgian teenagers who were having dinner next to us: they were really strong in dancing! The thing I liked most was the tradition of the toasts: I’ve never heard about it. At first it was a bit hard for me to understand what I had to do but then I appreciate very much the fact that the Tamada Seba chose me for the role of the Deputy Tamadas. It makes me proud.” comments Jesus from Spain

Another fundamental word in fact is “TAMADA”, the head of the table and the master of the ritual of the toasts. Normally he is the most important person at the table or the host. Depending on the size of the gathering, the Tamada might recognize one or more Deputy Tamada who take requests from the people around about the toasts and who referred Tamada’s words to those who are too far to hear him. Another figure is the person who has to refill the glasses after each toast (our “refiller” was Daniele). You can drink wine only when there’s a toast and it’s not allowed to sip. Oh, and how to forget it, when the toast is done you must drink the whole glass of wine!!!

Tania

Leave a Reply

