Goodbye’s (the saddest word)

 

Time flies – I really can’t believe that it has been 6 month since I came here. Now that it’s time to say good-bye, I can reflect a little bit on the last half year and see what I did and what I learned.
During EVS (and in basically every new period of life), there are ups and downs. It is never black and white, and you have to find your own little corner in the great big whole of it.
I did a lot of fun things – the “Behind the youth work” seminar in September, the collaboration with the Hangart Fest in October, the on-arrival training in Rimini, and of course all the things I did in my free time. I always have a smile on my face when thinking about all the events that I participated to, the little adventures in Italy that I had and about some late night conversations with my flat mates.
But there were also sad times – when the first group of volunteers left, I had a hard time being in Pesaro without my little “family”. Also there were many times when I wasn’t so happy with the work we were doing or with some general conditions, but sometimes you have to stand up for what you think is right, even though it might not be the easiest thing to do.
All in all I can say that I learned a lot during my EVS, about myself and about other people. I learned how to live by myself in a foreign country, meeting lots of new people, building up relationships and taking care of things that don’t seem to be going right for me. That was an important lesson and I am thankful that I was granted the chance to learn it.
My way now will lead me to Bologna, where I will do an internship for another 4 month before going back to Germany – as you can see, I’m really attired in Italy and not ready to leave this beautiful country so fast.
I want to say thank you to all the wonderful people that I met here who guided me through my EVS and who helped me to feel at home here in Pesaro, an amazing city that I will definitely visit again soon!

Baci a presto!

KatharinaVicolcorto, EVS, Katharina

Leave a Reply

