Servizio Volontario Europeo (EVS), Vicolocorto

Ciao Pesaro!

Ciao! My name is Léa, I’m 25 years old and I’m from Nice, in France. I’ve been here for three days now, and even if I don’t know what the future holds, I feel that I’m on the right tracks.

To understand why I’m here, let’s fast rewind to March 2017. I had been living in Montreal for almost 3 years, where I had a quite happy and steady life. I was working in a communication agency that hired me right after my Master, I had a great group of friends, and I even managed to survive two canadian winters!

Somehow, what seemed like a perfect life for a couple of years just didn’t anymore. I was missing the adrenaline of new projects, and in a way, I felt stuck. At 25, I had to make a decision: either to keep going this way, working on my career and getting settled in Canada, or to take a turn. As you probably guessed, the second option won.

After processing this decision, I had to figure out what to do. In a moment of despare (or intuition?) I literally searched on Google “How to travel without money?”, and surprisingly, I landed on a great blog post giving multiple ideas, presenting different international programs and solutions. One of them was the EVS program.

After more research, I realized that this program was exactly what I was looking for : something new that I never did before, a way to make myself useful and stay active, and an opportunity to visit and learn the language of a new country. Plus, I really missed Europe!

Everything went fast after this, I gave my resignation and left Canada in August. I started searching for EVS projects and applied to the ones I found most interesting (I was looking for a project with youngsters, that could also be related somehow to communication, which was my field of experience). Vicolocorto contacted me in December and here I am!

3

To me, these 10 months in Pesaro are an opportunity to reflect on what I want for the future. I also have some short-term goals that I hope to achieve: learning italian, developing my skills with video-making and drawing, learning how to play guitar, and visiting 10 cities I don’t know. But for now, it’s time to get to know Vicolocorto, the different tasks we have and the others volunteers that work and live with me!

Léa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s