Servizio Volontario Europeo (EVS), Vicolocorto

Get out of your comfy zone!

46297021_287661968532007_2792915450453819392_nAfter I finished my A-Levels at school I didn’t know what I could do!

A lot of my friends started to go to university. First of all I didn’t know what I should study, second of all I was out of school, I mean I was free, I could do what I wanted. After 12 years I finally had freedom. I used the internet to look what possibilities I had.

I had luck that I was born in Germany. We have the opportunity to do a lot of things after school.

We could volunteer, work and travel, internship or Au-pair all over the world.

But what is the best facility for me?

When I went to Uganda I realized that the huge offer that we have in Europe is not for everyone available.

I wanted to get in touch with other cultures, people and for me a foreign country.

And I wanted to do it now.

With the help of the internet I found the EVS website. They get supported by Erasmus +. I registered myself there and applied for some Organizations. After a few weeks I got a request from Vicolocorto in Italy. I was interested by this project but had also a bit of fear.  What would happen when the other volunteers don’t like me, what happen when I don’t like the work or our flat. What happen in the time at home when I am not there? Would I miss something? A lot of questions were in my mind.

„Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving” – Albert Einstein.

After I finished my Skype Interview with Carolina the Operator of Vicolocorto I felt really comfortable and I was looking forward to get the commitment.

After 3 days left I got the request that I got it! I was really happy and it felt good to go out of Germany.

And now I am here in Italy, Pesaro for 8 months. I am really glad that I decided to do it!

46305396_2070132119718367_7245548869881167872_n

I live with five wonderful people together from all over Europe.  Every day is a new experience for me with different places where we are working. Four of us included me are working with disabled kids and adults who are sitting in a wheelchair, we promote Vicolocorto in school once per week, we have Italian lesson, help kids to do their homeworks and we have with the other 12 volunteers reinforced mentorship together. We are talking about everything that we want to talk. And I also found a woman basketball club and maybe someday I will play for Pesaro.

I am excited for the next months!

Sophia

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s